The Grass is Always Greener

Sometimes, during the summer months when the garden demands a lot of attention and the temperatures are in the 100’s, I look longingly towards the winter months when it will be cool and so much fun to spend hours in the garden without worrying about having to bring along gallons of water and gallons of sunscreen.  But then winter inevitably arrives and it’s cold, yes the 50’s are cold for me, and I look at the calendar and wish for the warm days of summer, when I can work outdoors without a parka.  Anyone familiar with the desert climate knows that I do not jest, we seem to bypass the seasons of fall and spring and jump from shorts to scarves in less than a week’s time.  Well, this week was a chilly one, and I only made brief trips to the garden to pick vegetables.  Yesterday I picked snap peas, broccoli, and asian greens for a wonderful stir fry.  Almost every day I can eat a salad out of the garden or pick greens for juicing.

I did snap a picture of the peas that I planted last Saturday and they are doing great?????????????????????????????

And here is the patch of peas that I recently picked from.  I started these last September in the green house and planted them outdoors in November.  I’ve been eating from them pretty regularly for about 4 weeks now.

?????????????????

About PixieL

I'm an outdoor cyclist, Ironman, marathon runner and self-sustaining organic gardener. I am currently a student as well as teacher and a member of a community garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment